Pyrgos House – Kythira Greece

From the Blog

Collector’s item

This year marks the 150th anniversary of the union of the 7 Ionian Islands – the Eptanissa, to which Kythira belongs – with Greece. On May 21st 1864, the British, having ruled the Eptanissa from 1809, ‘donated’ the islands to the new Greek king George I. In order to add an extra dimension to the celebration, the Bank of Greece edited a special 2-euro commemorative coin. The coin has been in circulation since September 24th, in an edition of 750.000. As well as the text in Greek: 150 years of the union of the Eptanissa with Greece 1864-2014, Greek democracy, symbols of the 7 different islands are depicted. Try and get one of these special coins ….. Kythira’s symbol is Aphrodite rising from the sea.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen − five =