Pyrgos House – Kythira Greece

From the Blog

Potamos Agios Spyridonas

Potamos’ seven churches

Nowadays, Potamos is one parish, with the main church of Panagia Ilariotissa located near the town square. Until the 1960s however, there were 7 parishes, each with its own church: Agioi Anargyroi, Agios Ioannis, Agia Triada, Agios Spiridonas, Panagia Pantanassa, Agios Giorgos, Panagia Ilariotissa.
By doing our one-hour round walk through Potamos you will see all these churches. It is very interesting to get to know the town better after having a coffee or a drink in the town square where you start and finish the walk. You will walk along alley-ways some of which still have the original age-old cobblestones.
When you are in Potamos, visit our office for the free route description and map (available in English, Greek, German and Dutch).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two + 10 =